lunes, 11 de junio de 2018

#books #architecture | Authenticity : Landing Studio, First Office, Besler & Sons, Mcdowellespinosa, Thom Moran, Endemic

Authenticity : Landing Studio, First Office, Besler & Sons, Mcdowellespinosa, Thom Moran, Endemic / acknowledgements by Bille Tsien ; foreword by Michael Meredith ; introduction by Anne Rieselbach ; [editor Anne Rieselbach].
Architectural League of New York, New York : 2017.
176 p. : il.
Colección: Young Architects ; 17.
ISBN 9780991026364

Architectural League Prize for Young Architects and Designers.
Arquitectos -- Estados Unidos.
Arquitectura -- Premios y recompensas.
Arquitectura -- Siglo XXI -- Estados Unidos.
Sbc Aprendizaje A-72.092 *YOU/17*spi

The Architectural League Prize is an annual event involving a competition, a series of lectures, an exhibition, and a publication, organized by the Architectural League of New York and its Young Architects and Designers Committee. The 2015 competition theme, 'Authenticity', investigated recent advances in computation, visualization, material intelligence, and fabrication technologies, exploring how these advances have begun to alter the understanding of general design principles as well as the architect's role and practical approach toward architecture and research. Projects by the six winners address new positions of authenticity in architecture through form, design, substance, function, context, and other means that direct and transform their practices. The winners are: Dan Adams and Marie Adams, Landing Studio, Somerville, MA; Anna Neimark and Andrew Atwood, First Office, Los Angeles; Erin Besler, Besler & Sons, Los Angeles; Seth McDowell and Rychiee Espinosa, mcdowellespinosa, Scottsville, VA, and Brooklyn; Thom Moran, Ann Arbor, MI; and Clark Thenhaus, Endemic, Ann Arbor, MI.

The Architectural League of New York, founded in 1881, nurtures excellence in architecture, design, and urbanism, and stimulates thinking and debate about the critical design and building issues of our time. As a vital, independent forum for architecture and its allied disciplines, the League helps create a more beautiful, vibrant, innovative, and sustainable future. Michael Meredith is a principal of MOS, an internationally recognized architecture practice based in New York, and an assistant professor at Princeton University School of Architecture. His writing has appeared in Artforum, LOG, Perspecta, Praxis, Domus, and Harvard Design Magazine. Anne Rieselbach, program director of the Architectural League, has directed the Architectural League Prize since 1987. She organizes many of the League's lecture series, competitions, and exhibitions, and she was the editor of the recent League publication 30 Years of Emerging Voices: Idea, Form, Resonance.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario